Skip to content

We look forward to welcoming you to our little bit of France. Having explored several areas of France in our motorhome over the last few years, we started discussing whether we could make France our home. We love the laid back way of life compared with the rat race of England, the rural living but not too far from civilisation and the beautiful countryside that surrounds us.

In January 2019 we made a trip over to view some properties with the thought of buying a campsite. This wasn’t meant to be though and on the final day of our trip we visited Forest Gites and for us both it was a game changer and concreted our decision to move to France. Forest Gites ticked all of the boxes we were looking for, far enough south to enjoy sunnier weather than we were used to but not too far to return to the UK as and when required. So after resigning from our jobs and selling our property in England we got on the ferry in November 2019 and made the big move along with all our furniture, two horses and the dog!

The plot of 4 acres has plenty of space for everyone and the large swimming pool was a huge plus! The farm buildings have been sympathetically converted into 3 gîtes with the possibility of a 4th later on. There are also hangers, barns, a games room and an undercover dining area. For Sarah the biggest dream was being able to have our horses at home, this was realised in January 2020 when Archie and Dexter moved into the paddock behind our stone farmhouse. They are very friendly and love the extra attention they get from guests or if you aren’t that keen, don’t worry they are safely enclosed in their paddock! Forest Gites is perfectly located to explore the Deux-Sèvres, Charente and Vienne regions of France.

Upon your arrival we will show you around your gîte and the other facilities and then leave you to enjoy your holiday. We are however most definitely on hand if you need any help or advice on the area, restaurants or attractions. We are enjoying visiting a lot of these places ourselves so we can offer recommendations. 

Contact Alan & Sarah